Grammy Week: Album of the Year

130207154149-grammy-awards-adele-story-top

This year had a lot of bogus albums.

Nothing slayed me the way I wanted. No comeback dominated everything – except for Beyonce but that album is not eligible for this years Grammys. Everything else just felt safe.

There were a few highlights. Kendrick had one of the most refreshing rap albums in years, and believe it or not, I thought Bruno did a great job of mixing eras on his album.

Album of the Year is the award that means everything – hence Kanye West’s obsession with winning one.

In an era where more time is focused on the single, rather than the album, this award is even more coveted. It’s a pat on the back that you did the right thing as an artist and created a collective work worth listening too.

KendrickGKMCDeluxe

Should Win: Good Kid, M.A.A.D. City – Kendrick Lamar 

I cannot explain how relieved I was to see him on the list.

I wrote the other day how Kendrick should win best New Artist for his storytelling through rap, and it’s the exact reason that he should walk away with this award.

Good Kid, M.A.A.D. City was Kendrick’s childhood through song. The struggle was real. The doubt was real. It was very reminiscent of Kanye West’s The College Dropout, mixing questioning life experiences with spirituality.

On top of all that, Kendrick is one of the most promising rappers we’ve seen in years. He’s not giving us the nonsense rap of Lil Wayne or Nicki Minaj. Everything he’s done has been quality, and that’s not something I expect to change any time soon.

In this case I think the nomination was win enough.

I’ll be running through the street with my shirt on fire crying if he wins, but it’s doubtful. I think the nomination was done to show the public that the Grammy voters are hip and with it. They’ve done this to Kanye on three occasions and he’s never won.

Kendrick should win. He blows all of the other albums out of the water.

I hope the voters surprise me this year and give it to the artist who deserves it the most.

images

Will Win: The Heist – Macklemore and Ryan Lewis

This just makes the most sense.

The boys are Grammy sweethearts this year, and have received the most press for their nominations.

Overall I do think The Heist is a good album. I love how untouched it feels. You can tell if was done off an independent label and that works here. I love how Macklemore has set himself apart as this quirky white rapper who actually can rap.

Do I think that it was the best quality album? No, but I won’t be mad if they win.

Their win would just solidify the year that the duo has gone through. It will be another sign that you can burst through the industry off of creativity and determination.

I think Bruno a strong runner-up in this category. I kept bouncing back and forth between the two, but in the end I think The Heist has the right amount of hype and quality to push it to victory.

The-Heist-Album-Macklemore-Ryan-Lewis

LOL: The Blessed Unrest – Sara Bareilles

WUT?

Even she was shocked:

“I never in a billion million years thought I’d be nominated for Album of the Year. I’m literally shaking. Best birthday ever. Woah.” – @SaraBareilles

This was the weirdest most obscure of all the nominations.

Listen I know that Katy brought you a lot of attention, Sara, but this is a miracle. This is the equivalent of Aliens coming to earth and doing the dougie with the Obamas at Michelle’s birthday.

This is like the world just found out that the Titanic was one giant LOL and the whole thing was staged.

I’m not throwing shade here. Just merely reacting to the utter shock of the album being nominated. She’s a talented artists, and since being nominated I gave the album a spin. It’s not bad. Album of year? No.

All this started when you wouldn’t write that love song, right?

sara-bareilles-the-blessed-unrest-album-review

Should’ve Been Nominated: The 20/20 Experience – Justin Timberlake

First of all I’m saying it here, Taylor Swift’s Red should not have been nominated. I can’t even begin to list you the reasons why because this post would get out of control, but in short it has the same themes and concepts of her last albums with a pop twist.

Justin Timberlake should’ve been nominated for The 20/20 Experience.

I’ll start out by saying that I don’t think it was the best album of the year, and it wouldn’t have won if it was nominared. The hype before the album was so intense that there was no way it could have lived up to it.

The album wasn’t near the caliber of his sophomore album Future Sex/Love Sounds, but it was still a strong listen.

It produced two of the years biggest songs, was a themed concept album, and had no fillers. It wasn’t revolutionary, but as a collective piece it was still a highlight.

This was the one album that I thought was a shoe-in, simple because it was the most successful of the year. I’ve said before that the Grammys don’t care about commercial success, but the album was critically acclaimed.

I can deal with the snub and I can barely deal with Red being nominated, but please, for the love of everything that is good in this world, do not let Taylor win (again).

kid-screaming-o

Leave a Reply

