Can Mariah Strike Mimi Again?

Mariah-Carey-616x330

No one does a comeback quite like Mimi Mariah.

Back in 2005, after years of flops and troubled personal affairs, Mariah Carey returned to the scene with her 10th album, The Emancipation of Mimi. The album became one of her most successful to date, yielding the now classic song, ‘We Belong Together’.

Mimi threw Mariah back on top. It gave her 2 number one hits, bringing her to a career total of 17 at the time, and it allowed her to own the radio like she did in the 90’s.

While the initial comeback was amazing, the years that followed weren’t. Her last two studio albums couldn’t even sell a third of what Mimi did. They were filled with nursery rhyme hooks and desperate music videos. I would argue that her career is in a worst state now than it was pre-Mimi. Since August 2012 she’s released 3 singles, non of which made a major impact. Two of them didn’t even chart in the Hot 100.

But can her new “comeback” single, ‘You’re Mine (Eternal)’ change all that and give us some 2005 realness?

First things first, Mariah is Mariah. By that I mean she chirps, dresses like she’s 20, she breaks records, and always wants us to remember how accomplished she is. She’s been in a constant battle to stay on top since 2005, starting feuds with other singers to stay in the headlines.

No shade – this is just who she is.

mariahcoolbeans

Mariah is one of the best songwriters of the 90’s. The magic and chemistry between her and Jermaine Dupri really was game changing. ‘Always Be My Baby’? A stone cold classic.

90’s pop wouldn’t have been anything without her.

The same could be said about ‘We Belong Together’ and the 2000’s. The song was number 1 for 14 weeks. Unreal. It’s still one of my favorite songs from the decade.

This is exactly why ‘You’re Mine’ sounds like the step-child of ‘We Belong Together’.

Here’s the formula that’s being used – mid tempo+piano+low bass+echoes+vocal restraint= long impressive vocal finale.

It’s the same formula that ‘Don’t Forget About Us’ followed. That also hit number 1. See where I’m going?

Listen, ‘You’re Mine’ isn’t bad, but it isn’t great. I feel about it the same way I felt about Justin Timberlake’s ‘Mirrors’ – I’ve heard it before, so I’ll listen again. That’s basically the message that’s being sent here. “My other singles flopped, so I’ll just give you this.”

So the big question is, will it be another hit? I think she made the right move by sticking to something more radio friendly this time. That will work in the ways that ‘Triumphant’ and ‘The Art of Letting Go’ didn’t. I also think that its a good nostalgia track, but that may be it’s downfall. I don’t know if the pre-teens of today will be jamming to this. It doesn’t sound current enough.

giphy

I think that vocally she sounds great. I’ll also never get tired of hearing the big note in all her songs. Mariah will go down as one of the greatest vocalist of all time. She doesn’t sound like she use to, but she’s still got it.

‘We Belong Together’ was preceded by ‘It’s Like That’, a song that was good but wasn’t a major hit. I wouldn’t be surprised if she has a few tricks up her sleeve before her album, The Art of Letting Go, drops. But bottom line, true comebacks are few and far between. I want her to succeed. I think that she is an amazing writer and singer.

What happened in 2005 won’t happen again, and once she realizes that, her music will sound less desperate.

At least to me.

Leave a Reply

