A Little Wedding Song Post

IMG_5103

I was married this past October to someone exceptional.

We were engaged for 9 month, so planning the wedding was a quick, whirlwind experience for us both. One of the hardest things to pick our wedding song. I’m obviously a music snob in many ways, so the song had to be perfect. Considering that I have such strong musical opinions I knew this would be a challenge for us.

For the record, my number one choice for my wedding song was ‘Sure Thing’ by Miguel. If you know me, the songs is very me.

My wife’s choice was Michael Bublé’s ‘Hold On’. If you know my wife, the song is very her.

So this left us with the daunting task of picking out our wedding song coming from two different musical pallets.

The whole process took a few months. We had finally decided on Lauryn Hill’s ‘Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You’ until we practiced two weeks before the wedding and realized that two white people just can’t get down to that.

So we I panicked as we searched through the internet and my ipod until we stumbled upon Aerosmith’s classic ‘Don’t Want To Miss A Thing.’

*Steven Tyler Scream* 

The song was written for the movie Armageddon, which came out in 1998. I had just got braces on my top teeth, was wearing my Godzilla egg t-shirt as much as humanly possible, and was rocking a pair of new balance (velcro) sneakers.

I obviously can’t remember the exact moment I heard the song, but I can assume it happened sometime in the back seat of my parents Chevy Lumina. The cup holders were filled with melted candy and there was a chocolate milk stain on the cars roof from my sister.

2nd_Chevrolet_Lumina_1

‘Don’t Want To Miss A Thing’ was a staple song in my childhood. It hit number 1 on the Hot 100, and became the biggest song of Aerosmith’s career. If you grew up in the 90’s you knew, and probably, loved the song. It was literally everywhere. The fact that the movie was so successful didn’t hurt either.

Sidenote: Didn’t see the full movie until my 20’s because it was PG-13 when it came out and I was 8. L-O-L.

Back to the song, it was written by Diane Warren, a prolific song writer who’s worked with countless artists. Warren was able to create a stadium anthem in the 90’s, leaving the cheesiness of the 80’s behind. The lyrics and melody are striking, especially in the the verses. It’s easy to look past this until you break it down.

I could spend my life in this sweet surrender 
I could stay lost in this moment forever 
Where every moment spent with you is a moment I treasure 

When you look at the lyrics of the song, it’s actually just two verses and a chorus repeated over and over. Steven Tyler’s performance makes the simplicity unnoticeable. I’ve never been a Aerosmith fan, and I don’t think I ever will be one, but I can’t deny how good he sounds in this song. Not flashy or overtop, just right.

I would have never imagined dancing to the song at my wedding when I first heard it. I was 8, and more concerned with my Beast Wars than anything else. She wouldn’t have thought it either, and that’s what made the song special for us. We were listening to the same song growing up with no idea what ahead of us.

The song represents the unexpectedness of finding each other and sharing past memories until we made our own. ‘Don’t Want To Miss A Thing’ was etched into our minds before we knew each others names. It was connected to old memories, but now had new meaning. It’s the same with everything else since we’ve met each other.

I learned that it wasn’t about having “the song” or being “overly romantic”, because writing our own history is romantic. This is now our song. That moment triumphs all others.

I’ll still be that little boy hearing the song in my parents car. That won’t change. But I’ll also be the man dancing to it with his Bride. And that’s something far more valuable to me.

Leave a Reply

