Who Will Win The Oscar For Best Song?

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.

This year has to be one of the tightest races for Best Original Song.

It’s been about 2 months since U2 walked away with the Golden Globe for ‘Ordinary Love’. While the Golden Globes tend to show the front runners for the acting categories, the same isn’t always true for Best Original Song.

With that said, U2’s chances of winning are slim when stacked up against the other choices.

Especially since ‘Let It Go’ and ‘Happy’ have received so much attention in the past few weeks.

I’m going to handle this the same way I handled the Grammy predictions, which means I can rant a little bit about who was snubbed and what a crime it was. I’m going to leave out the LOL section because I’m an adult and should start acting like one (but really there’s no one to put there so LOL, am I right?)

Also, I’m going to show you the power of Disney.

Predications Below:

frozen-400x400

Will Win: ‘Let It Go’, Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, Frozen

Disney has the Best Original Song category on lock. They always have and they always will.

If you don’t believe me let’s take a brief trip down your childhood and look at some winners:

‘Beauty and the Beast’ – 1992

beauty-and-the-beast-17

‘Under The Sea’ – 1989

cartoon-desktop-background

‘Can You Feel The Love Tonight’ – 1994

PDVD_889

‘A Whole New World’ – 1993

553405-aladdin

And the #ForeverFlawless #CantTouchThis #RhoAnthem

‘Colors of the Wind’ – 1995

pocahontas

The thing about ‘Let It Go’ is that it follows the same formula as all of the other winning songs. You walk away from the film with it stuck in your head. It’s big, catchy, and attached to a wildly successful movie. Plus, it doesn’t hurt that the song has been everywhere these past few weeks. Just take a quick look at iTunes; top 10 status.

It has everything that the Oscar voters tend to look for. I think it’s safe to say that Disney will walk home with the prize yet again.

Pharrell-Williams-Happy-2013-1200x1200

Should Win: ‘Happy’ – Pharrell, Despicable Me 2

You all know I’m a Pharrell stan, so I think I want this more because it’s him. Honestly, this section is a close race between U2 and Pharrell, but since I like ‘Happy’ more I’m siding with it.

One of the reasons I think it should win is because of all the success that it has found. The song climbed to number 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 last week. That means it would join the likes of ‘My Heart Will Go On’ and ‘Lose Yourself’ if it won tonight. [Both songs won the award and hit number 1]

Also, the song is slammin’.

In all honesty the fact that the song is nominated may be enough for voters. It’s a catchy fun song, but it doesn’t scream epic like ‘Let It Go’. It certainly has more to offer than Karen O’s ‘The Moon Song’, and is better than the typical U2 song we got with ‘Ordinary Love’. I’m just not convinced it’s enough to beat out Disney.

But how badly do I want to see that hat win?

Young_and_Beautiful

Snubbed: ‘Young and Beautiful’ – Lana Del Rey, The Great Gatsby

The snub of the century.

I join the thousands of other bloggers who have complained about this for the last few weeks.

‘Young and Beautiful’ was one of the only things I loved about ‘Gatsby’. I love how the song lead the entire film and how Lana’s “oows” were heard in a distance. It is one of the only Lana songs that I never got sick of and that sounds just as haunting now as it did the first time I heard it.

‘Young’ receiving a Oscar Nomination was the one thing I was certain of last year.

Now I don’t know what life means anymore.

I love you, Daisy.

*cue piano + lana ‘oows’*

tumblr_mnlso4ToNq1s5lf2ro1_500

Leave a Reply

