Remembering ‘Chicken Noodle Soup’

6a00d8341ca51d53ef00e5506823c68833-800wi

I’m taking y’all back to 2006 today.

There were a lot of benefits to growing up in New York City. There are to many too list, but there is one that needs to be mentioned on its own, DJ Webstar’s  ‘Chicken Noodle Soup.’

The Harlem based song and dance took the city by storm throughout 2006 before being officially released that fall. From the corners of Brooklyn to church basements in Queens, everyone was chicken noodle soupin’ and loving life.

It wasn’t until I got to college that I realized the ‘soup’ was embraced by the whole nation. It didn’t have the universal effect of ‘Soulja Boy’, but you would’ve never know riding MTA or listening to Funk Master Flex.

*cue foghorns*

And let’s get it’s straight, it wasn’t about the song, but all about THAT DANCE.

 

Let’s get it, let’s get it, let’s get it – AH

Have you ever seen anything more ***flawless?

I’m sure that’s what everyone said when I chicken noodle souped at all those sweet 16’s.

41-Chicken-Noodle-Soup‘Chicken Noodle Soup’ peaked at number 45 on the Billboard Hot 100, mainly because of its music video becoming a viral hit. YouTube was just taking off, and a little song from Harlem proved how lucrative the site would be for the music industry. And your eyes don’t deceive you, the song was on Kidz Bop too.

I think for us New Yorkers the best part about the song was that it was homegrown. 2006 was still saturated with the southern hip-hop and dance craze. Unk was 2 stepping, Dem Franchize Boyz were leaning and rocking with it, and you know that you were still snapping your fingers to Lil Jon. ‘Soup’ was the New York answer to all of that.

chicken-noodle-soup

Everything about the song and the dance was perfect.

Proven by the fact that the beat was literally a siren with a steady bass and clap.

That Young B sounded like a 10 year old, but still killing it. (She was 15)

 That the intro is a man yelling for almost 35 seconds straight.

And that no one cared because it was all so good.

But THAT DANCE >

tumblr_llguy5jJ941qca8swo1_500

The animation of “soda on the side”. The shuffle.
The making it rain and clearing it out.

#iconic

tumblr_llgvt5MnlW1qca8swo1_500

What I would do to have a video of me dancing at my girl Ivy’s Sweet 16 with my cousin Matthew.

Clearly my nostalgia plays into remembering the song, but it was more than just a dance. It represents the most care free time of my life. A time where I’d do my Spanish homework on the 7 train and buy albums at the Virgin Times Square store.

virginmegastore

[We miss you]

It represents the dance off’s in the halls and banging on the lockers yelling “no music.” It’s the time in my life that helped shape the musical persona I have today.

I’m proud of my city. I love my city, which is why ‘Chicken Noodle Soup’ was part a big part of growing up. I owned it as best as a white boy could because it was from my city and I was glad.

We came. We souped. We conquered.

Leave a Reply

