Ed Sheeran Gets Pharrelled on New Single ‘SING’

ED-ed-sheeran-35955423-1413-943

If you were reading my coverage of the Grammy’s back in February than you know that I’m not really an Ed Sheeran fan. His music didn’t do anything for me, and it didn’t help that he was riding off of his Taylor Swift friendship to get more fans.

Even though I wasn’t a fan I never denied his talent or his “sound.” To put it simply, it wasn’t for me but I understood why people liked him. He wrote all of his music, and when he came on the radio you knew that it was him.

With his popularity on the rise he decided to let go of the ‘Lego House’ sound and dive right into the mainstream before the release of this sophomore album.

Maybe I’m becoming a bitter blogger, but this is getting me more angry than I was before.

#NeverHAPPY


ed-sheeran-sing

‘SING’ is the Pharrell produced lead single from Sheeran’s second album (x as in multiple, not x as in Chris Brown.)

Imagine Pharrell hooking Sheeran up to dynamite and then pushing the lever because that’s basically what happened when they sat in the studio and recorded the song. It may be billed as “Produced by Pharrell”, but don’t get it twisted this is 150% Pharrell. No traces of anyone else.

Sheeran sounds like a British version of Justin Timberlake on Justified, and normally throwing around a Justin Timberlake comparison is a good thing.

I should note this, the song isn’t bad. It’s a jam. Great chorus, and the oh’s that follow it will be stuck in your head for the rest of the day. And vocally I think that this is the best he’s ever sounded.

I just don’t buy any of this.

66877-ed-sheeran-ed-sheeran-gif

You’re telling me that the awkward guy who hunches around in hoodies is now serving us up some bonafide soul?

I’m all about growing as an artist and finding new sounds but this isn’t it. When you expand yourself as an artist there are still traces of your artistry in the new music. Nothing about this song is Ed Sheeran.

But if Miley can do a reinvention and get everyone (including me) to believe it than maybe Ed can too.

I would’ve respected him more if the song sounded more like a collaboration than a Justin Timberlake B-side.

What do you think about ‘SING’??

Leave a Reply

